Access for Infants and Mothers Program Banner


You have a baby on the way! The State of California wants to help you get good health care during your pregnancy. Going without prenatal care can cause many problems for you and your baby. Studies show that women who do not get prenatal care often have more complicated (and expensive) births. If you don’t have insurance to cover your pregnancy and you are not receiving no-cost Medi-Cal or Medicare Part A and Part B, the Medi-Cal Access Program (MCAP) may be the helping hand you and your baby need. MCAP can also help if you have other health insurance that doesn't cover maternity services or with a maternity-only deductible or copayment greater than $500. Check with your other health insurance plan to see if your deductible or copayment is for maternity-only services.

Family Photo Selecting a Health Plan (Posted on 11/12/15)

After you submit your application for the Medi-Cal Access Program through the Covered California website and have received notification that you are eligible for enrollment in MCAP, your next step is to select a Health Plan. Click here to see which health plans are available in your county. Once you have made your health plan selection, you must contact MCAP at 1-800-433-2611 and notify them of your plan selection. The Health Plan selection is needed to enroll you in the health plan if your county has more than one Health Plan option and helps speed up enrollment. Please notify MCAP of your choice.

Family Photo (Posted on 09/08/15)

Effective September 1, 2015, if your household income has changed you can submit a Medi-Cal Access Program Contribution Re-Evaluation Form to see if you qualify to lower or waive your monthly contribution.

(Posted on 06/26/15)

You may be eligible for Medi-Cal, the Medi-Cal Access Program, or Covered California during your pregnancy and immediate postpartum. Read more bullet

Family Photo The 30 week pregnancy limit is no longer an eligibility requirement to qualify for MCAP
(Posted on 03/02/15)

Effective March 1, 2015, the Medi-Cal Access Program (MCAP) no longer has a 30 week pregnancy limit for MCAP applicants. Pregnant women can apply at any time during their pregnancy but must meet all other MCAP eligibility requirements in order to be determined eligible. If you have any questions on this program change, please call 1-800-433-2611.

Family Photo Protecting yourself and your baby from pertussis (whooping cough)
(Posted on 07/24/14)

Pertussis (whooping cough) is a highly contagious disease that can be spread by coughing. People with pertussis have severe coughing attacks that can last for months. Read more bullet

Family Photo What is Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI)?
(Posted on 02/10/14)

Starting January 1, 2014, the Affordable Care Act (ACA) requires the new Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) guidelines are to be used to determine the eligibility of pregnant women for MCAP. Read more bullet

Family Photo Surrogate Mother Benefits Not Available through MCAP
(Posted on 01/12/12)

Effective February 1, 2012, maternity services for a paid surrogate mother will not be covered under the MCAP. A paid surrogate mother is a person who has made an agreement before the pregnancy to become pregnant and deliver a child for another person for monetary compensation other than medical and living expenses.

Family Photo Important Information for All Expecting Parents!
(Posted on 12/15/10)

Congratulations! You have a baby on the way! Read more bullet